New PC Advice requested

movieholic1977

Honorable
Mar 2, 2013
Good Morning,

Thanks in advance for any and all advice as it helps me to understand the PC field and all the options available. I am rather new at picking parts and understanding things so bear with me. I have tried posting this question once already to try and understand what is written below.

Currently i have:

cpu i7 920 @ 2.67 ghz
motherboard: Dell - model number 0R849J, socket 1366 LGA
memory: 4 gigs DDR 3
Video Card: ATI Radeon 3400 series
Storage: 640 gigs

I think that's enough of the basics to let you guys know what your working with. Let me know if you need any more specifics.

What i want:

I want BOTH a high end gaming machine and I want an HTPC.

Lets be clear on the terms. A High End Gaming Machine would be a machine to play the newest online games that are presently available like Diablo 3, plus the future ones like Neverwinter, and then the future future ones that are not announced but the case has room for these along with the parts to run them. Esssentially we are trying to future proof or at least plan and build for the next 5 to 7 years which is the average length of any PC Build for High End Gaming

An HTPC would allow my machine to watch Movies on my Computer that i got from a "legal" online source, like Amazon Prime or Piratebay or EZTV. These movies and tv shows would be displayed on a nice sized monitor, like 27", so 1280 x 1020 would be ideal, but options for bigger would be tested.

I would need a good independent sound card to play i think along with a nice graphics card to display.

Using PC Part Picker i see that my budget would be around $2,000. I have social security which makes this tricky as i get $630 a month, so this entails a part by part approach. One month you buy "x" and "y" and then the next you buy "z" and then you have it installed at a local place to guarantee a nice warranty.