Wireless for HTPC? (low profile PCI card or other solution)

jaochoo

Honorable
Mar 2, 2013
I am building an HTPC have an A/V component form factor. Thus, a normal PCI card won't fit in but only low profile cards.

Now I'm having real problems finding a low profile wifi card. The only card with a low profile bracket that I found (http://www.linksys.com/en-eu/products/adapters/WMP600N) is around 40-50 Euros which I find too expensive given that there are cards for ~15 Euros (even though this card gets highly recommended all around the internet).

So my question is:
- Is there any good low profile wifi card for around 10-25 Euros?
- If not, what other way do you recommend to upgrade my HTPC with wifi? I assume a simple USB dongle doesn't provide enough speed?

jaochoo

Honorable
Mar 2, 2013

I remember I read somewhere that a PCI card is recommended over an USB dongle. So I thought speed is the reason, USB being the bottleneck. I could be wrong though. I admit I am not a pro in hardware issues..

I'm having a hard time finding one. Maybe they just don't advertise it in their specifications or package contents. For example, the TP-Link TL-WN851ND card (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/?model=TL-WN851ND+) can be bought on Amazon for ~15 Euros but doesn't seem to have a low profile slot bracket.

Absolutely true, but only if you have a very fast internet connection and wifi speed. In most normal cases, it's the connection playing the role of the bottleneck, not the dongle.

I don't know about that particular card, but low-profile connectivity is a hard thing to find - among graphics cards, nobody advertises or even mentions what cards are or are not low-profile ready. Your best guess is to look for an adapter among the image with he box contents.

subsect

Honorable
Feb 28, 2013
I would recommend a good usb adapter over pci/pcie.
The performance is similar.

Easier to move from pc to pc.