Sign in with
Your question

[SOLVED] I am building beasty PC for 3D rendering/video editing, any advice?

Last response: in Systems
March 3, 2013 1:11:06 PM

I am building beasty PC for 3D rendering/video editing (yay)
This is my first time building a pc from scratch, I feel like I have everything somewhat under control, but I would like you guys to give advice on the components, like if there's something I am unaware of. Especially the cpu and ram has got to be running together fluently.

The hardware: (links are in danish)

CPU: AMD FX-8350, 8MB, FSB: 2600Ghz bit.ly/XLTU5O
RAM: 32GB 2400GHz Kingston HyperX Predator bit.ly/Wp3T2P
GPU: eVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti Superclocked+, 3GB bit.ly/12lS9AW
(2nd GPU: Some older, used nVidia GPU)
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX bit.ly/XPvnty

I am still deciding on the motherboard, the 750 W PSU (or higher?), to use or not to use other than standard cpu cooler, cabinet, BRD drive, HDD or SSD etc.

Extras: Win8 x64, Dell UltraSharp U2713HM, A Samsung 1920x1200 display

Do you guys have any advice on the components I am still deciding between? Anything I have forgotten to consider?

Cheers!
March 3, 2013 1:26:40 PM

I am not allowed to edit/expand above post, so I will be posting it as a reply:

Approximate Purchase Date: next week

Budget Range: 2000 $ == 10.000/11.000 DKR

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Renderfarm, Workstation, Gaming

Are you buying a monitor: Yes, two

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: edbpriser.dk

Parts Preferences: nVidia is the only thing I'm sticking to

Overclocking: Yes, a bit (CPU 4,2 GHz oc Turbo mode)

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 2560 x 1440 and 1920 x 1200

Additional Comments: As silent as possible
March 3, 2013 6:48:08 PM

Is it possible that the FX-8350 doesn't suppert 660 Ti's PCI-E 3.0? That might be a problem or what is it? I've been looking at the ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z Republic of Gamers mobo
Related resources
March 3, 2013 6:50:15 PM