Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help choosing the right parts

Last response: in Systems
March 4, 2013 8:06:22 PM

Hello, Im a first time pc builder though i know a far amount about pc's in general. Im trying to build a pretty nice pc but i dont know what parts to get for some of the things i need. im using it for gaming, music, and a lot of youtube stuff. i mainly want it to have good graphics, be fast, and be relatively quiet. i also want to use water-cooling. this is my build:

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770k
CPU Cooler (liquid cooling) :?
Motherboard:Asus maximus v extreme
Memory:?
Storage (Hard Drive):WD 2tb black
Storage (SSD):?
Video Cardiamond AMD Radeon HD 7970
Case: nxzt phantom
Optical Drives: lg blu ray burner
Power Supply:?

Thanks,
J

More about : choosing parts

Best solution

April 17, 2013 7:07:20 AM

When you say "youtube stuff" do you mean uploading/editing videos, or loading them quickly?

CPU: If you want to create/edit/upload videos, go with the 3770k, if you're just going to be doing gaming, go with the 3570k.

Water cooling: If you have the money go with a custom water cooling loop. Buy the parts yourself (pump, res, coolant, tubing, fittings) it will look nicer, and much more customization.

Memory: If you're going to be creating/editing/uploading videos, 16 GB of RAM won't hurt. If you're just doing gaming, 8 GB is perfect.

SSD: Go with a 120 GB SSD for a boot drive. Also, if you're doing youtube video creating/editing/uploading, grab a second hard drive to record your games to.

PSU: 750 watt should be fine, 650 watt would even do but if you have the money grab a 750 watt, especially if you plan on adding another GPU in the future.

Let me know if you have any questions!
a b B Homebuilt system
May 5, 2013 8:33:12 AM