Searching for a new GPU, Please help

RedLight5

Honorable
Jan 13, 2013
Hi Forum

so I think my graphics card is broken :( and since I want to start commentate I'll need a nice sturdy one but I suck at hardware.
Anyway here is the info

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I don't have one since I am a student and don't know my self how much time I would have for my self but lets say in the next 6 months.

BUDGET RANGE: R0 - R3000 ($0 - $350 ) around there is my budget.

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Little gaming not much and but most importantly to Render videos ( if my budget is to low you can propose any other card as well but be sure to add his price as well )

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY : Nvidia Gforce GTX 550 Ti and a 700W PSU

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS : Intel Core to 2 duo CPU @ 3.06Ghz and my Motherboard is ASUS P5KPL-AM SE also I own 4 GB ram

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Takealot.com or Kalahari.net

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: South Africa

PARTS PREFERENCES: I love NVIDIA but if there is anything better or has a nice price tag and will hold for the type of card I am fine with it.

OVERCLOCKING: Dont know what it is lol

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Once again I don't know what it is

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1600x900 2 off them

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I have none just a thanks to the forum.

-Church-

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2011
EDIT (Re-read thread sorry 'bout the CAD cards, not at all on topic)

Idonno is right, the best choice for your current price range is the 660. Whats sad is in the US you could buy a 670 for that money (350 USD).

http://www.takealot.com/computers/computer-components/gigabyte-nvidia-geforce-gtx-660-gddr5-pci-e-3-0-graphics-card-2gb,27188593

Also if you want to speed up render times (as your GPU most likely wont effect anything that much, from what I understand you need a new one because yours isn't at the performance level you want) get this CPU.

Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9650 (~R1700)