Closed Solved

~$1,000 Gaming Computer

Hello,

I'm attempting to build my first PC. I've been reading up on the articles here (The build-off's and the like).

And think I'm finally ready to give it a shot.

I realize that Tom put together a $1000 build for Q1 already, but I felt like I could push the envelope a little further and add in a few extra features.

That being said, I hope this isn't a complete failure, in that I have no previous experience in building computers and my overall knowledge is limited to what I've read over the last couple months (i.e., all theory and no application).

I'm open to suggestions and getting the price to performance ratio better is always a good goal in my opinion.

Here goes:

Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: soon, the sooner the better

Budget Range: $800-1200 USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Movies, Music, Production (very low on this last one)

Are you buying a monitor: Not right away, I've got a crappy one that I'll list down with the parts, I'll probably upgrade in a few months.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Location: Mars, PA, USA - is the location of the build. I'm on assignment for work, but my hometown is Skokie, IL, USA

Parts Preferences: I don't really have a preference between AMD and Intel, or NVIDIA and AMD. As this is my first build, I'm open to pretty much whatever; however, going by the builds here on TH, it sounds like the Intel cards do slightly better for gaming (Best Budget CPU's for Gaming February).

Overclocking: Not likely, but maybe. I've never done any overclocking before and to be honest, the thought of possibly losing components that I've spent money on is terrifying.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, but it'll be a while down the road I'm still trying to get the boss (my fiance) to be okay with the $1k I'm anticipating spending as it is. Adding another $200-300 isn't really going to fly right now.