Upgrading from AMD A10 5700 HD Graphics To higher Graphics

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyclarkkucey

Honorable
Jan 19, 2013
Hi I am new to the computer world and I recently bought myself a PC for gaming.
My current PC specs are as follows:
Processor: AMD A10 5700 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3.40 GHz
Installed RAM: 10.0 GB
System Type 64 Bit
Model Number: p7-1240

I am a complete noob and I want to upgrade my graphics so I can play games on high or ultra settings. I have the money to upgrade but I just need a little help picking out what I need and how to do it. I've heard it's easy and a good learning experience and I'd love to do it.

Basically I am not sure if I would have to upgrade my powersupply or cpu or anything I need help understanding what I have to do. I would really appreciate it. I would also like to stream my gameplay which I know I need to upgrade for that. So any input would be helpful I would like to stay with AMD. Please help. :)

Budget: I would like to stay in the 300 - 400 $ range.

maxalge

Champion
Ambassador

You would most likely need a total system rebuild depending on the games you wanted yo play and the resolution of your monitor.

Maxing out games is something very difficult to do but it doesn't look like you are after that. I'm a bit confused about your ram arrangement to start I take it you are probably using 2x 4 gigabyte sticks and 1x 2 gigabyte stick. I would think it would be more efficient to run to in dual channel. I believe you can get high settings and ultra in places I think maxing out your games is a bit out of the picture with your current CPU as most high end graphic cards need a higher end CPU to push that kind of power.

So what would I recommend for you. I would say either a 660Ti, or a 7870 would be a great place for you. How large is your power supply? Do you know its model number?