Sign in with
Your question

Extending range to another building

Last response: in Wireless Networking
February 19, 2012 1:30:03 PM

Warning! This is long but I’m trying to be thorough

Ok guys I have been on a quest to search for a good and somewhat cheap way to extend my home wireless network. I am going to be a detailed as I can so you all can draw the best picture in your head. Also I would like to stress that I have very little knowledge of what the industries acronyms mean, so the more detailed you are the better and it will be greatly appreciated. I know how to set up a basic home network but that’s not saying much when it pretty much does it itself.

Here’s the thing. I have Comcast cable Internet hooked to a Linksys WRTS54GS. It is currently centrally located in the house and works great anywhere in the house (3300sq ft), so moving it to a better location in order to extend the signal shouldn’t be an issue. Approx. 160 feet away is a large shop my dad and I just completed and want wireless Internet. At 160 feet from the house, you are at the very front of the shop and then it goes back another 60 feet you will be entering the office where the computer is. The office is another 15 to 20 feet long giving a total length of 80 feet. So currently we are at 240 ish feet total. As stated above, I can move the home modem to a place that will be sitting on a window ledge facing the shop. 160 feet away is another window in the shop that I can put whatever device you guys recommend. The hopes are for that the recommended device can incorporate the entire shop of about 2600 sq feet so we can have laptops anywhere we want but mostly in the office