7870 Sapphire v Gigabyte v ASUS

Status
Not open for further replies.

benboo

Honorable
Jan 18, 2013
Hi guys

its my first time building a budget gaming and little video editing pc with a $1000 budget

i've chosen all the other parts, except the PSU.

i've decided to get the radeon 7870 but i cant decide which brand i want to get.

Sapphire @ $249
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=19778

Asus @ $265
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=21635

Gigabyte @ $249
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=19740

from research sapphire seems like the stronger card, the Asus is relatively weaker out of the box but can oc higher while costing $16 more, and the Gigabyte being the same price as the Sapphire could easily overclock to similar stats as the Sapphire.

i've never owned any mid to high end computers so im not sure about the durability and shelf life of these parts.

Asus and Gigabyte are 2 brands im relatively more familiar with, while im a complete stranger to Sapphire, though i have read some very positive feedbacks.

The warranty is one of the very few things keeping me from walking out with a Sapphire. 2 years on the Sapphire, 3 years for the Asus and Gigabyte.

help me decide guys!

Solution
Okay, for me, all cards will live to the day that they are really outdated and need to be replaced. Unless you really made a crap of your card and OC it too much and stuffs. But if your just a casual gamer, gaming at highest settings but no OC, or casual OC. then don't worry with life expectancy. Your just unlucky if you'll have a bad card from the start.

admbautista

Honorable
Oct 29, 2012