I Need a new GFX card (Previous sucks) for high-res & modern shooters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Land-Shark

Honorable
Jan 25, 2013
Hi everyone!

(For those that don't want to read the following)

BUDGET RANGE: Up to $500 maybe? I'm a college student so I'm low on funds.
MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080
CURRENT GPU: Radeon 7770 1GB (1x - my 2nd is dead after a driver update in crossfire mode?)
CPU: AMD FX-8150 Eight-Core Processor (8x 3.6GHz)
RAM: 16384MB RAM (RIPJAW DDR3 4x4GB)
MOBO: GA-970A-UD3 (Updated to new ver. F7)
PSU: ATX 700W PSU

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S): Newegg (Really whatever you prefer)

[Now for the story bit if anyone wants to read about my plight and questions]

I've been running a Crossfire (Two Card) configuration recently and just hit some serious problems. I was using 2 "AMD Radeon HD 7770 1GB" graphics cards in crossfire mode - and was getting "Decent" FPS ($100 card) for medium-tier games like CS:GO.

The problem is that whenever I try to update the cards... I get a BSOD. Also, some games BSOD'd without the latest drivers. (As well as an explorer.exe crash) So I really needed to update. I FINALLY got the newest drivers - by removing my second graphics card and going with one.

So now I really need a new card - a single one (since 1x lets me update) that is powerful enough to handle modern games like BF3, Skyrim, etc.

Would this one be overkill? Best AMD choice possible? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125413 - Would it be bottlenecked?

My PC Specs:

Land-Shark

Honorable
Jan 25, 2013
Thank you for the extremely quick post - and the useful information.

That's okay I suppose... I have Battlefield 3 + Premium on the XBOX 360 (of course it is nowhere as awesome as the PC), but I was just using Skyrim/BF3 as a benchmark for my next card. (Due to the large amount of entities, destruction, or players/npcs/items on the screen at one time) :)