Workstation vs Gaming card dilemma

rubieken

Honorable
Jan 26, 2013
Hi guys, as you can probably tell.. i am new to this forum. As i am trying to build a decent rig for personal use, i have been researching like a boss trying to decide what spec to go for. This said, i am an absolute novice at anything technical relating to PC hardware. From reading a lot of post's on this forum i can tell that most, if not all, of you seem to have a good grasp of what your talking about. Although i am still undecided so i am posting this with hopes of getting some clarity on my current dilemma, as the title suggests.

So.. about me and what i will be using this system for. I am a hobbyist with aspirations of working within the animation industry as a modeler/animator. I am trained in lightwave but use maya, zbrush as well as dabbling with the likes of 3ds max, C4D, Vue and the likes. I will mostly be modeling, creating HD imagery and making animated shorts - nothing too extensive - so Adobe does come into the equation as well ( Ps, AE, Premiere Pro ) I also play a few games (day of defeat source and football manager primarily) but they aren't really important when it comes to my build.

Now, my budget is around the £2000 mark and i have a system that i have configured using Scan.co.uk but i am still undecided whether or not i should just go for this system or try save myself some money as my needs probably don't merit such high end parts. The system is as follows:
case - Fractal design define R4
CPU - i7 3930k hex core 3.2ghz 12mb cache. (option to overclock to 4.4ghz)
mobo - ASUS P9X79
CPU cooler - Phanteks performance CPU cooler
RAM - 32gb DDR3 1600mhz
GPU - 2gb Nvidia Quadro 4000
PSU - be quiet! straight power E9 CM 680w
SSD - intel 120gb 520 series
HDD - 2tb Seagate Barracuda
OS - Windows 8 64bit standard (maybe opt for windows 7)