GPU temperatures higher after new cooler.

lee a

Honorable
Jan 27, 2013
dvrpgmlyr

http://postimage.org/image/dvrpgmlyr/ I am a noob at uploading pictures sorry.

So my GPU used to sit around 85c (the TMPIN0 in the GPU section used to hover right around that) when I played games and decided to get a new after cooler. After installing the computer my GPU temp in HWmonitor dropped by about 30c but my TMPIN0 temperature skyrocketed! I have no idea how this could have happened. This is causing massive frame drops and pretty much making sc2 and d3 unplayable at the moment. If someone could give me some advice on what is going on it would be greatly appreciated!

Also there are 2 different TMPIN0 temps one under the mobo section and one under the GPU section. I am referring to the latter.

Edit: I noticed that people recommend downloading GPU-Z in other threads and it is reading very high temps on all 3 GPU temp areas. Seems to be pretty consistent with the TMPIN0 temp from HWmonitor.

Sounds like to little or too much thermal paste or the cooler is loose. Don't overtighten but check that the cooler is snug. If it is take it off, clean off both sides with rubbing alcohol and a clean cloth, then reapply the paste no bigger than a small pea. I used to even it out with a razor blade but that is not necessary.

lee a

Honorable
Jan 27, 2013
Ok so I went back did a real good cleaning with isopropyl alcohol and applied a little bit more thermal paste cause I went extremely light the first time. This has brought my load temps back up to around 95 when my stock fan was getting around 85. What is weird is that this fixed my fps spikes and I can now run games flawelessly again I'm just worried about burning my card out.

Timeline :
- Stock card temps were 80-85c
-New fan brought temps down but not the TMPIN0 temp ( this could have been reading wrong since GPU-Z said all temps were high) but was having massive FPS drops to where games were unplayable.