Downloading large file half duplex

Sswweennyy

Honorable
Mar 6, 2012
Hello, if I have a half duplex 10 mbs connection, is the max speed to download a large file 5 mbs or would the download tend to hog the channel direction?

Solution
You didn't mention how many users you have or how they are using the internet. It may simply be a case of you flooding out your 1.5Mbit uplink.

I believe you are correct in saying that you should get full speed in either direction, but only in one direction at a time.

Sswweennyy

Honorable
Mar 6, 2012

No not homework - a difference of opinion with my network guy who wants me to spend some money. He is modern and I am an old mainframe performance guy so I am applying some ancient logic to new stuff that frankly I have a reasonable working knowledge of but I am not an expert (nor I fear is he - he claims queuing theory does not apply to networks which was my bread and butter).

I run a resort across 300 acres. There is a backbone layer 2 network that basically goes from the gateway wirelessly to a tower & feeds two access points. One AP is for the guests to access the internet and the second to send a PXP signal on to the next tower where the same configuration applies - ie another AP for clients and a PxP link to the next tower. We have a 10 meg down/1.5 meg up internet link which is running slowly.

He claims it is because the switches at the towers are running in 1/2 duplex mode and therefore cannot run over 5 meg/s and need to be replaced. My argument is that 1) the wireless links pretty much by derfinition must run 1/2 duplex and therefore, if he is right about the 1/2 speed, we would have to re-jig the wireless links as well. 2) 1/2 duplex means it runs and full speed in one direction at a time only. ie a big file is coming 'in' it will occupy the line most of the time and should run pretty close to 10 meg during this operation. If the traffic were 50/50 then yes, I would expect to see half the the throughput in each direction.