Compare ati radeon 5450 to nvidia geforce gt 630

jbeach34

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013
Hello,
I currently have the ATI Radeon 5450 graphics card on my comp, but I've been having issues with graphics when playing my Sims 2 game. So I've purchased the nvidia Geforce GT 630 in hopes of boosting my graphics.
Which is better? And will I be able to switch them out w/o too much difficulties?

Thanks

jbeach34

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013
Thank you for your quick reply!!!

I'm a newbie, do I need to remove the radeon somehow? I haven't opened my pc yet (obviously! ;) )
What do I need to do/know?

Thanks!

all you need to do is download an amd drive sweeper and boot into safe mode and remove the amd drivers for the vidoe card first.then power off and unplug the pc from the wall...wait 3-5 min to let the mb drain of power. make sure on the card swap your not standing on carpet or have clothing on that make static....cheap socks...petting your cat. you need a screw driver on some cases to remove the screw holding the card to the case. all new mb have a video card locking latch that has to be pressed in to unlock the video card..if not you snap the card or the mb pci slot.
http://www.3dnews.ru/_imgdata/img/2009/01/09/asus/slots.jpg
then line up the new card and press down on the card..you hear a slight click when it locks in. the card and the pci slot cover should be flush as the old card was. put the screw back in and power the pc with the side case off. make sure you see a post screen and the gpu fan is moving fine. go into windows and let it load default drivers for the new video card. power down and put the side panel back on if everything is fine. if there extra video power cables if you dont have plastic tye wrap the try and tuck the extra cable where they cant be sucked into the fans.

jbeach34

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013
Thank you sooo much for all your help!