How future proof are a pair of GTX690s?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pentiumradeon

Honorable
May 3, 2012
Running on an overclocked i5 3570k processor and a decent motherboard, how future proof are a pair of GTX690s running in quad SLI? I am relatively new to the building aspect of computers, so even though I know the benchmarks and such things that are readily available for reading online, I still am not so sure about these things in a manner that more seasoned people around here might understand. My question is how far into the future can I expect those two dual gpu cards to bring me ultra graphics settings in a good enough framerate (>60fps)

Solution

No DX capability is not enabled by drivers.

i8myhippo

Honorable
May 20, 2012
You say a "pair" of 690's running in "quad SLI"? I guess, technically, a 690 is two cards put together, but do you mean 2 690's, or 4 690's?

To answer your question, they will future proof well, but understand that this is flawed logic: all technology gets old eventually, and it may be better to buy the $400 range and upgrade every generation if you REALLY need the max performance at all times. Most people around here with a 470 are just now starting to look at buying in the 600-700 generations.

A pair of GTX690s aren't even present-proof. Driver support for 3 and 4 way GPU solutions (GTX 690 is a dual GPU solution in case you're not aware) is incredibly shoddy.

pentiumradeon

Honorable
May 3, 2012
well to answer everyones questions, two 690s put together are technically quad sli, since they are basically two 680s put together in one card at slightly slower clocks. You all didnt really answer my question, based on your experience having had even 400 series nvidia gpus as some of you say, how long did those cards last you before you realized you had to upgrade to get decent framerates on current games. and also wouldnt the cards be upgradeable driver wise to run direct x 12?

pentiumradeon

Honorable
May 3, 2012