Sign in with
Your question

MSI 7870 Hawk Running Hot

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 3, 2013 10:21:25 PM

I recently built a computer with a MSI Radeon 7870 Hawk. The first card I received had some really strange issues. I made a post on it awhile back but the issues were so strange that no one really seemed to have an answer. Eventually I RMA'd the card for a new one. So I have been using this new card for awhile and hadn't really seen issues.

Recently though I started playing Star Wars: The Old Republic and my GPU temps were sky rocketing and eventually I had to start running a frame limiter and run the game at 45 FPS just to run in the 80C range. At first I figured it was just something related to the game and my card. Now though I'm starting to play Planetside 2 and the card runs around 90C when I'm not in any action and gets close to 105C when in battles, sometimes getting close to 110C.

I do run the card with some overclock but it really isn't much (1200MHz GPU and 1300MHz memory) and I haven't touched the voltage settings at all. I tried removing the overclock and it didn't seem to have any effect on the temperatures. I could turn the graphics settings down in the game but with the power this card has it should be able to play most games with max settings. It seems like there is more of an issue going on than with this one game.

Lastly, I noticed the card seems to be running quite hot during idle. Right now with just Chrome open it's idling at 58C while my CPU and motherboard temps are 32C and 29 C respectively. Even with just chrome open and my GPU fans running at 100% the temps haven't gone below 51C.

I read on another thread that it might be a good idea to remove the heat sink, clean up the GPU and heat sink block and apply some better thermal paste. Will something like this void the warranty? I'd like to think that with the reviews out there that this card is pretty good and that I've just had some bad luck.