Sign in with
Your question

7970 (ghz), 670, or 680

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 4, 2013 5:05:09 PM

I am looking at cards in the $400 range but I am having trouble pulling the trigger. I initially decided on the 7970, but I keep reading about all the trouble AMD is having with the drivers right now. The 680 looks good, but it seems awfully pricey when compared to the 7970. Would the 670 be a significant upgrade to my 560 ti 448? Also I am not sure if my PSU could handle a 7970, but from what I have read a 680 is not quite as power hungry. So... 7970 (and PSU possibly), 670, or 680.

My current setup -
MB - Asus p8z68-v pro gen3
CPU - i5 2500K
GPU - Gigabyte 560 ti 448
PSU - OCZ modXstream pro 600w

This would be the first upgrade on my first build, so I have no experience with AMD and nothing to reference my Nvidia experience to. I also will likely upgrade to a 3 monitor setup in the future so SLI and Crossfire quality/capability are factors.

More about : 7970 ghz 670 680

a b U Graphics card
February 4, 2013 5:09:52 PM

Since you already have a pretty nice setup, you might as well wait for the next generation cards to come out..I heard they will be out this year, but who knows. Unless you have an issue where you must upgrade, I would wait.
a c 87 U Graphics card
February 4, 2013 5:13:29 PM

AMD isn't really having trouble with the drivers these days. People still having problems (perhaps with a few exceptions) are mostly having problems not caused by drivers or didn't update drivers properly. The same is true for Nvidia; they both have excellent drivers right now and have for some time (granted Nvidia had a strong head start at first).