G

I am no engineer myself, so perhaps I too am oversimplifying a complex idea. Why can’t a simple circuit board be made to hold 8, 16 or even 32 sticks of SDRAM chips to be used as a Solid-State Hard Drive? I have read the other postings and visited the web sites of those EXPENSIVE versions of Solid-State Hard Drives but what is so difficult about offering an unpopulated PCI card hard drive? Is the engineering of a simple card and software combo really that difficult and expensive? I just want to see an unpopulated PCI card be made available for $100 or so that I can add PC133 RAM to, and still use my current hard drive as backup. Does such a product exist at a reasonable price and if not … why not?

FatBurger

Illustrious
The problem is that RAM is volatile, so you lose all the information stored on it when your computer is rebooted or turned off. That said, there's a link on how to set it up correctly so that won't happen somewhere in this forum.

<font color=orange>Quarter</font color=orange> <font color=blue>Pounder</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Inside</font color=orange>
Don't step in the sarcasm!

Cstew77

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2002
Here's an engineering answer for you. PC circuits are based on bi-stable devices - 1's and 0's which correspond to either the + or - electrical charge or the N or S polarity of a magnet. RAM is basically a bunch of really small capacitors that store an electronic charge. The reason why RAM is not solid state is because the capacitance charge dissipates after a while.

And I am an engineer.

kief

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2001
Besides any technical issues think how big a card would need to be to hold 32 dimms!!! There would also be a (lack of) demand issue with the device as most people would not pay $100 + thousands for RAM....

Jesus saves, but Mario scores!!!

Mnx4

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2001
Yeah but what about MRam? Doesn't it retain the information on it even after you shut off the computer?