Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Bad time to buy a card?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 9, 2013 7:38:39 PM

Hello,

i've been scouring news sources and looking for an answer... about when does nvidia refresh their line? i keep hearing march-april based on past years, and i see the 690 is coming out...

i'm new to this so sorry if it's more obvious than i'm aware, but do prices drop year-on-year, and does nvidia generally refresh or are they holdin out for "post-kepler" cards? i've been perving on newegg/tiger direct and prices really havent changed... i see the 690 is coming out, but thats way out of my budget. i'm so close to pulling the trigger on a 660ti or 670... and i know the notion of having the latest and greatest is silly because something new is always gonna come out... but i would feel bad if new cards were only a month or two out.

TL;DR is there any evidence beyond rumor that nvidia will refresh the 600 series this spring or should i just buy now?

More about : bad time buy card

Best solution

a b Î Nvidia
February 9, 2013 7:43:54 PM

The 690 gtx is available for some time, like more than six months.
You mean the geforce titan, which the rumors said it will be released by the end of the month and that it will outperform the 690 gtx with just a single gpu on the pcb(rumors) and that it will carry a price point between 700-900$, again just rumors.
There's no release date for 700 series, and i don't think it will be that soon.
So just get a 660 ti or 670 gtx, depending on your budget.
February 9, 2013 7:48:59 PM

The consensus opinion is that the GTX 7xx series isn't coming out in the next 6 months. As for the Titan, as it's more of a high-priced limited-edition novelty than a harbinger of cards priced for us mere mortals...
Score
Related resources
February 9, 2013 7:54:10 PM

Best answer selected by husker apollo.
Score
February 9, 2013 7:57:13 PM