Quadro 4000 is failing on first install

Allee

Honorable
Feb 9, 2013
Hello,

This is my first ever build and everything looks great except the Quadro 4000 is failing. I have the latest nvidia driver installed and my GTX580s are working (i.e. the driver seems good) but the Q4000 is failing. I took out the 580s leaving the Q4000 alone and windows forces the driver back to VGA. I tried it in different slots. The windows message is ""Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)". I am feeding a HP2711z monitor (27" 1080p). Another symptom is the screen is full of horizontal line segments about an inch long.

Any ideas?
------------
Mobo: Asus P9X79 pro, Memory: 64GB Vengance, PSU: 1200w Seasonic, Windows 7 Pro My goal is to have operating 2 - GTX580 Classifieds for CUDA processing and 1 Quadro 4000 for the monitor.

Allee,

I'm not an expert in the Quadro 4000, having never used one, but I have researched building a system extremely similar to yours, but instead using the Quadro 4000 with a pair of earlier generation Tesla GPU's- possibly C2075's- for the CUDA processing- a discount home supercomputer. The GTX 580 is, in my view, one of the great Geforce cards and I considered replacing the (extremely good and nice) GTX 285 (1GB) in my Precision T5400 [qc Xeon x5460 3.16GHz, 12GB RAM, WD RE4, Win 7 ULT 64] with a GTX 580 (3GB). However, as I learned more about Quadro capabilities in 3D CAD- how about 128X antialiasing?, I bought an FX 4800 (1.5GB), and the 4800 coincidentally has drivers and optimizations specifically for two important applications I use- Solidworks 2010 x64 and Adobe CS4 MC. BTW, I also use the HP 2711z monitor- fantastic!