AMD or Nvidia

Status
Not open for further replies.

Headbomb

Honorable
Oct 29, 2012
Hello All!

I have been researching what graphics card to buy for about 2 months now. I'm a tech guy so I understand all of the terms and performance of both sides. I was pretty sold on the Radeon 7950, especially because of the free Crisis 3 and Bioshock infinite game coupons. Now, I am not sure at all. Nvidia has just announced this: http://www.geforce.com/landing-page/free-2-play

Yeah, I play both Planetside 2 and World of tanks so the in game credits would be very useful.

Also, The 7950 : 300$
the GTX 670 : 400$

I'm back on square one. What should I go for? What is the better deal?

Solution
I think you will find two schools of though on this .....

-the one with published benchmarks in the reviews

-the one posted on the forums.

Unfortunately, most reviews are done at specific resolutions ...... and we see reviews about "new drivers" from one team outperforming the other team with no mention of the other team's drivers being 2 generations old..... and we see average fps stressed in most reviews while lag / latency goes unmentioned..... and lets not forget the history of driver tweaking exchanging fps for image quality....... so that it's hard to tell what's what at any given point in time

I happen to like the HardwareInfo site as it performs the tests multiple times at various resolutions and settings .... in addition...

Eloy34

Honorable
Feb 11, 2013
i can recommend the radeon hd 7950, if you can save a lil more money get the 7970, nvidia and amd are very good i think it depends in the customer, i prefer amd instead.
whatever card you choose enjoy it :)

Hi - If you are considering the 670 @ $400, then you should look at the
amd hd 7970 (vs 7950) as it can be had for < $400 ($360-$390 after mir)

Tom

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131468

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150596