Your question

Asus Radeon HD7970 3GB VS. EVGA GTX680 2GB

Last response: in Graphics & Displays

What card runs BF3 the best

•  
  •  
  •  
February 12, 2013 8:54:18 AM

I am researching hardware non-stop but I'm still a noob so I come here to ask questions to the people that do understand hardware.

I am building a new desktop and I was wondering what the best video card is for Battlefield 3, the Asus Radeon HD7970 or the EVGA GTX680, vote in the poll and if you feel its neccesary to leave down an explanation leave a comment.
If there is another card for $470 that runs Battlefield 3 better then the HD7970 and the GTX680 post a comment

Thanks
a b U Graphics card
February 12, 2013 10:24:47 AM

I don't think we can say BF3 favours Nvidia anymore. Recent benchmarks have shown that with updated drivers, AMD Radeon cards perform just as good. At stock speed, maybe the 7970 is behind the GTX680 a bit, but with overclocking (I'm sure the Asus 7970 is factory OC'ed), it performs even better and it has more room for manual overclocking as well. Going higher resolutions (2560x1440) even show the stock clock 7970 comes ahead against the GTX680.
a b U Graphics card
February 12, 2013 11:04:52 AM

Also, what model of ASUS Radeon HD 7970 are you considering on purchasing? The reason I am asking is because their DCUII for 7970 is horrible. So if you want a good 7970 go for Sapphire, Gigabyte, MSI or XFX and save yourself form the headaches.
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
February 12, 2013 11:06:40 AM

And if you want a good GTX 680 then you have a lot of options, however I would go with eVGA given their track record and the chance to refund you should you want to get the Titan when it comes out. Remember they have a 3 months window for refunds should a new model come out within 3 months of you purchasing different model/chip etc!
a b U Graphics card
February 12, 2013 12:34:27 PM