Graphics card is getting loud when playing rift

backdrop001

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2012
Hi everyone i'm a novice at this and am not very technical but anyway.

this is the pc i have http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/asus-essentio-cm6870-us/4505-3118_7-35312870.html

I like to play the online game rift and when i play the video card get really loud i guess its the fan going super loud.

I used the ati manager that came with my PC and the temps on my cpu is 40c-50c range

I may just need a better video card i don't know, if that the case if someone could point me in the right direction of what kind i need in my system that would be great.

Mostly for playing my game and i like to watch streaming , nothing too exspensive though i'll have to save for it and all that.

anyway once i stop the game it quiets down.

The video card that came with my asus essentio is a NVIDIA GeForce GT 545

wiggbot

Honorable
Dec 22, 2012
What are your framerates? If you're comfortably above 60 fps on average, an option may be to enable adaptive v-sync. This will lock your max fps, thereby lessening the workload, thereby lessening heat and ultimately fan noise.

You probably have a noisy card. Many gpus do get that way when fully loaded for long periods of time. Your card is pretty low end, but if it runs your game okay, then you may just need to buy an aftermarket gpu cooler. I use Arctic Cooling heatsinks when I change from the stock one as they are very quiet and keeps temps in check too.

teaser

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2008
you could also get something like evga precision and make your own fan profile so the fan will only spin up to the speed you set for the temperature desired.....pretty easy actually

backdrop001

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2012

ok thanks are they hard to install?

wiggbot

Honorable
Dec 22, 2012

It's pretty easy to make a fan profile, but a little harder to make a good one. :D