ATI AIW Radeon 8500DV

Faceman

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2002
Hi, I've heard the AIW 8500DV runs slower than the retail 8500 but can be overclocked to the 8500s retail speeds - is this true, and if so, is it difficult to do?

Secondly, what really pissed me off with my DC10+ capture card is that it would only work in it's own editing program - will the AIW 8500DV run in other programs, like Premiere?

Thirdly, is the capture quality and features as good as a stand alone capture card or is it really just for people who want to record stuff to VCD? I'm an amateur film maker and need to send it back to tape, so it needs to be fairly good quality.

knowan

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2001
Hi, I've heard the AIW 8500DV runs slower than the retail 8500 but can be overclocked to the 8500s retail speeds - is this true, and if so, is it difficult to do?

<font color=green>It can be overclocked, but I have no idea how easily. Yoyu would be better off asking this in the overclocking 3d chips forum.</font color=green>

Secondly, what really pissed me off with my DC10+ capture card is that it would only work in it's own editing program - will the AIW 8500DV run in other programs, like Premiere?

<font color=green>Yes</font color=green>

Thirdly, is the capture quality and features as good as a stand alone capture card or is it really just for people who want to record stuff to VCD? I'm an amateur film maker and need to send it back to tape, so it needs to be fairly good quality.

<font color=green>It's a very good quality capture, but not professional quality. It should be good enough for tape though.</font color=green>

--------------
Knowan likes you. Knowan is your friend. Knowan thinks you're great.

labdog

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2001
yes & its a peace of cake ... to try it. :)

<A HREF="http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm" target="_new">PowerStrip 3.15</A>

if <b>you know</b> <font color=white>you don't know<i><font color=black>, the way could be more easy ...<font color=red>