Need advice on upgrade(s)

Christopher_00

Honorable
Feb 21, 2013
Hello, I would like to upgrade my PC to better handle Crysis 3 and other games.
My current didn't do so well in the C3 beta and would like some help on upgrades.

i5-2500k CPU (stock cooling)
ATI 6950 Sapphire GPU
P67 B3 Revision Mobo
Neo ECO 620w PSU
8gb RAM (Would have to take them out to look at brand/model if important)

I have $400 to spend and don't know how to get the best performance increase with it.

Was planning to get a gtx670 but all the recommended models seems discontinued.
But also noticed a few things. All the 670s require atleast a 600w PSU, I have 620. This gonna be a problem?
Also they use PCIe 3? I have PCIe 2 on my motherboard. This another problem?

Alot of things im unsure about so I ask you guys for advice =P
How should this $400 be spent.

Note: Im a student without a job, so saving money takes time =P (Sold one of my Diablo3 characters for this money lol.)

master_chen

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012
The only thing you should really upgrade in your build, is video card. Everything else is quite fine.
Just get a newer card of HD "7870~7970" level.

...400$, huh....hmmm...

I have a couple of recommendations for you:
Get this (or this, if you don't mind to spend a couple of extra dollars, but you can actually find it for less money at some places) and you're pretty much good to go with Crysis 3 on very high settings (or maybe even maxed out, probably) with stable 60 FPS through the entire game.

Anyway, aside from that:

1. Difference between PCI-e 3.0 and PCI-e 2.0 is absolutely miserable, so you won't feel any difference at all. It's 1% difference, lol.
Also, all PCI-e 3.0 slots are backwards compatible, and video cards too, so you can plug "PCI-e 3.0" GPU into PCI-e 2.0/2.1 slot just fine.

2. Your PSU is probably Antec's HCG...it's more than enough at the current time, do not worry at all.