El cheapo GT610 card problems ...

JakeAmes

Honorable
Feb 26, 2013
Hi All, noob here, please be gentle.

Added a Gigabyte branded Nvidia GT610 PCI-e card to my aging Core-2 4GB desktop. Dual booted XP and Win8. Ran a new touch 22.5" monitor from the HDMI and an older (Viewsonic VX2025wm) from the DVI port. All seemed pretty nice for a few weeks, (not gaming here, just business, plus audio and the usual browsing). Both Win8 and XP working equally well.

Booted up after having all shut down for a weekend and got the 1920x1080 on the new touch monitor but VGA on the Viewsonic. The Viewsonic was also recognized as a Plug and Play monitor by the Nvidia control panel as opposed to a VX2025w_ prior. Similar in both OS's. Tried to reset the Viewsonic resolution and the Nvidia control panel seemed to take the 1680x1050 but only displayed VGA. Messed with trying to update the monitor driver for the Viewsonic but no help. Updated the Nividia driver, no help either.

Troubleshot by swapping the hdmi and dvi ports, same thing. Ran the Viewsonic from a laptop, worked just fine at 1280x1024. Then tried a 2 yr old 20" LG monitor in place of the Viewsonic. Got mixed results such that it seemed my maximum total resolution was being limited ie was able to set something like 1600x1080 on the touch monitor and 1024x768 on the LG (sorry can't recall the real numbers). Then messed with that and got the Nvidia control panel to accept 1920x1080 on each monitor but DEFINITELY was NOT displaying this. Was spending too much time so went back to single monitor on the touch display at 1920x1080 and am currently not running dual display.

Sorry for being long winded and thank you if you are still reading this.

Did my GT610 suffer a failure? Reinstalling it didn't help. The only thing I could think of, other than a hardware failure was Windows updated something that partially killed my graphics drivers but there is no indicator of that.