Linux newbie here...

Barry_Gibb

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2001
Hi everyone!

As the subject says, I'm a Linux newbie, and I recently installed RedHat 7.2 on the same hard disk as Windows 98 SE. Everything is fine for now, except for one thing: I'd like to access the files on my Windows partition while I'm in RedHat, but I really don't know how! Is there a specific path to access it?

Thanks a lot!

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002
Hi! :)

Did it set a path up at install time? If it did, "C: drive" is likely to be /mnt/windows. If it didn't, the RedHat online docs can step you through it pretty easily.

Barry_Gibb

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2001
Woops, already got another problem :)

This time I'm simply looking for the file "pppd" so I can finally connect to the Internet in Redhat. Everything else seems to be fine, only this file seems to be missing. I've been looking for it on my RedHat CDs and on its website, but with no luck. Help, anyone?

Thanks in advance!

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002
It normally lives at /usr/sbin/pppd, and is part of the ppp package. I'd be surprised if it is missing, but you might need to be root to run it. As you are a "newbie", I'd suggest using the GUI tools to get the modem+internet going.

Barry_Gibb

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2001
Thanks for the help poorboy!

Root is the only account on my machine for now, so I doubt that's the problem... I've tried the GUI tools, but I couldn't get them to work with my ISP...

I got my ISP's instructions here, maybe you'd see something I'm doing wrong... <A HREF="http://www1.sympatico.ca/help/local/bell/hsedownloadslinux.bell.html" target="_new">http://www1.sympatico.ca/help/local/bell/hsedownloadslinux.bell.html</A>