WinXP + USB Modem = NEED HELP!

G

I just upgraded Win98 to WinXP and installed the drivers for my Diamond SupraMax 56k USB Modem. When I try to connect using it, XP says its dialing, but my modem indicates that it hasn't picked up the phoneline. If I wait, then XP just times out eventually and says the connection failed.
Any ideas???

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
dude - how can you expect to make something like this work when XP isn't even released yet? Who the hell knows if the Diamond drivers support it (NOT)! Dumb move.

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>

G

I think the dumber move may have been coming here expecting help and not ridicule... It's not that I EXPECTED it to work, I wanted to try XP, so I did, and the modem doesn't work. I was just checking if anyone else has the same problem or maybe knows of a solutions, as I'm not really an expert in XP or with modems.
By the way - 5 stars for your excellent effort at being a complete ass...

<b>The Agent</b>

Powered by:
AMD Athlon 1.33 @ 1.47
Abit KT7A-RAID

Butch2112

Distinguished
May 21, 2001
Is this that winxp professional trail? I got one for going to some xp launch event or somthing. I read to much crap about the activation and how it dosn't work with hardly any older hardware. I installed it on a stand alone system here at my house (no internet no modem) and it worked ok for the 4 times I could start it all I can say is its pretty. Other that that it didn't show me much. Everything I had connected worked printer, usb, etc. After 4 boots I uninstalled it I am not gonna upgrade to it. I am kinda old school if it aint broke don't fix it. With all microsofts crap about the reg process this time worried I might put it on 2 computers insted of one just seems like a hassel that it just isn't worth to me. I bought 98 the day it came out (remember 98se) it won't happen again.

If you see a turtle on top of a fence post,
It's a good bet somebody, put him up there.

jlanka

Splendid