660 gtx compatibility

Jimbobsey

Honorable
Mar 4, 2013
Quick question.

I'm looking at getting a 660 gtx (not ti) and I read somewhere that due to it being a 2gb card it could cripple my system.

I'm a noob at upgrading so I don't understand if this is the case or why or how for that matter,

My specs

Q6600 core2quad 2.4 (overclocked to 2.7)
Asus p 5ne sli mobo
4 gb ram
Antec 500 watt psu
Running vista ultimate 64bit

Any help would be much appreciated.

Gtx 660 will work with your system.your cpu might slight bottleneck with gpu but there will be nothing serious performance loss.i suggest overclocking it to 3.0ghz and enjoy the ride with gtx 660.

Hi Jimbobsey,

I have the exact set up you do, and had the same problem when deciding to get my 560ti. Would my proc bottleneck it.

Following some good advice from this forum, and with a bit of trial and error, I have my G0 Q6600 running at 3ghz Prime stable for 12 hours. I've been lucky in that there aren't many with that chip/mobo to achieve that, as the P5NE-sli is notorious for OC Quads. Dual cores have amazing results.

Anyway, here are some guids Ive found helpful, and along with the guys here my system still has some gaming life left. Although next atep is an i5/i7 upgrade.

http://www.overclock.net/t/146744/asus-p5n-e-sli-650i-thread/3820 - seoncd post is from Tribeca, which is a good start to get prepared.

http://www.overclock.net/t/146744/asus-p5n-e-sli-650i-thread - this one will help get to 3 ghz (if possible with your chip).

So, try OC a little more, and the GTX660 will be good to go. After that, don't waste any more money upgrading. It's taken me ages to finally admit that to myself!! Long live the Q6600!!! :)