Sign in with
Your question

BSOD Driver_Power_State_Failure

Last response: in Windows 8
February 8, 2013 9:56:32 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm having reoccurring BSOD appear notifying me of a DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE in Windows 8. When the computer reboots, one of my HDD has disappeared. I'll mess around with drivers installing certain combinations which will bring the drive back to be on the subsequent boot but will get another BSOD within a day. The drive is good and passes all possible tests but it is always the same drive. I'm new to dump files and have no idea what to look for. Please Help.

Here is my minidump:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/18957983/020813-70964-01.dmp

Thanks in advance!
a b \ Driver
a b * Windows 8
May 11, 2013 12:34:59 PM

Hi Phronesis,

The minidump file that you have provided shows that the error is causing due to rtwlane.sys driver file. this is a driver of Realtek wireless adapter. Can you tell me which model of this adapter you are using?

Fro the time being, try to boot the computer with Windows 8 bootable DVD support to enable legacy boot menu from command prompt. This will help to boot Windows 8 in safe mode. Once opened in safe mode, uninstall or update the device driver. To update the driver from the Internet, choose Safe mode with networking option. For further help follow the link to resolve this issue.

http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-1653253/fix-driver-p...

To download latest drivers for your Realtek wireless adapter follow the link given below:

http://www.realtek.com/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Lan...

Let me know if this helps.
m
l
a b * Windows 8
May 12, 2013 11:31:57 PM

Hello Phronesis,

Cause

This error is generated when a driver does not work when Windows changes between power modes. For example going into or coming out of hibernation or Standby.

Answer

Install the latest drivers