What Graphics card should I buy

pjim

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
Hi

I'm a bit of a noob with gaming PCs as I've not built PCs for a long time. Hoping you can help me with choose the right graphics card?

I just got a new system.
Amd Fx 6300
8 Gb ram
With my old graphics card gt9600

I kind of regret not getting the Intel chip now as they seem to be a lot better from what people are saying?

I'd like to get a new graphics card, hopefully one that will last me a while. I could spend up to 300 pounds (I'm UK based) or so, but I don't want to waste money. I haven't got a solid state drive yet either, so I think some of my budget could be better invested there?

I don't want to buy something that I can't get the full power from, due to my cpu or the like. I play on a Asus 24" monitor, no extreme resolutions or the like.

I've looked at everything from the 560 ti, 660 ti, 7950, 7970, 670 gtx. I'm just really confused as what's worth getting.

I'd like to get really good graphics performance, the very high settings with a decent frame-rate. But I'll be happy with high settings at 40fps or so, I suppose. I'd like it to last a decent amount of time.

I play a bit of Wow and hear it works better with Nvidia cards? I also like Call of Duty and I've just brought Dishonored, not started playing it yet.

Really appreciate any advice, thanks.

amirp

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2009
what is the exact model of your power supply? The GPU uses alot of power and knowing how much power you have available will guide the recommendation... but generally I would recommend getting an amd 7950...as I think many on this forum would also do the same.

EDIT: Use this guide as a general reference for the performance of the cards and what is best at which price points.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107-7.html

and then look up reviews to see how specific cards perform in your favourite games... but both dishonoured and COD are easy to max out...and so is WOW