bacca

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
Hello all,

As part of my work I get sent around various sites checking up on our IT guys and helping them with governance issues.

One of our sites has lost its IT tech on long-term sick and now the other one has retired.

I'm on site now and there is a massive issue with their research lab and I sort of, kind of, have to try to fix it.

I'll try to cover as much as I know. Please bear with me, I'm not a Network Admin or Manager and I have limited experience with that side of IT.

1 x LAN with Internet access
2 x Windows 2k3 32bit servers
32 x Windows 7 64bit Clients
80 x Users with individual profiles

Cyber Patrol's siteSURV software is running on all clients but not the server. This software apparently sends each IP request off to an external server which then validates the request ("apparently").

The problem as far as I can see is that the Group Policies are not being applied. Please understand that they are in fact being shown in GP Results Wizard as being applied, its just that they aren't!

I've gone ahead and created a new GPO that changes the desktop background and linked that at Domain and OU level and still receive the same default Windows background.

When the techs installed the first server (DC1) they used the Default Domain Policy for the Password policy. (Having done a bit of googling apparently that's not a great practice so I thought I'd put it in here in case that makes a difference to someone).

I know that the Default Domain Policy is working as intended as I have changed the password length policy and have had success with it.