ibm 120GXP

G

Hi.

i would like to buy an IBM 120GXP with 120GB capacity.
i dont know if this hard disk is a good choice?
maybe it exists other hard disk brands better?

hey, im a newbie, keep it easy men. be cool and be patient. thanks. :)

Lars_Coleman

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
Maxtor has a D540X with 120GB capacity. Even 160GB.

I would try to stay away from IBM from my personal perspective.

<font color=red>People and hard drives are like bandwagon fans and sports!</font color=red>

bobmitch

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2002
Check out the Western Digital 120 GB Drive...either the WD1200BB or WD1200JB. The BB version has 2 MB cache on it and the JB is the gorilla with 8 MB cache. Both drives put out close to 50 MB per second and are the fastest EIDE drives on the market...run you around $200-$225.

Bob

Come with 3 year warranty...

ejsmith2

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
There's a good chance that 120gxp won't last you a long time. You'll probably get a year out of it, but anything over that is extra-ordinary.

In the 120gig sizes, there's quite a few other driver that will get the 48meg/sec reads that the IBM drives get.

Try <A HREF="http://www.storagereview.com" target="_new">http://www.storagereview.com</A> and check some numbers.

dhlucke

Polypheme
IBM has done poorly now with both the 75gxp and the 60gxp. I wouldn't take a chance on the 120gxp. My 60gxp drive died after 6 months and I'm not very happy with them at all.

<font color=red>God</font color=red> <font color=blue>Bless</font color=blue> <font color=red>America!</font color=red>

kief

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2001
I would not trust IBM IDE drives (SCSI is another thing) as I have seen problems lately. The older ones are great, but the last 2 generations have been flakey at best. Id say Western Digital, esp if you can afford the 8meg special edition as its the fastest around =)

Jesus saves, but Mario scores!!!

G

i cant trust Maxtor nor Western Digital but maybe seagate, fujitsu and of course IBM.