Some...no A LOT OF questions!

r2k

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2001
I know these are A LOT OF questions and am sorry but anyhow I'd really appreciate some help ;-)

1. Can I use my Windows fonts under Linux? I checked my Windows 2000 fonts folder under Linux but Nautilus doesn't open them. If I can, where do I copy the font files, where does Linux keep its fonts? Where can I download or purchase more fonts if neccesary?

2. I want to use right-to-left languages (specifically Persian(Farsi) and Arabic) but it seems they're not supported. What should I do? (Red Hat 7.2)

3.How do I update my Kernel? (2.4.7-10) Could you provide a link to a detailed explanation, 'to-do's, etc.?

4. I was thinking of upgrading the XFree86 to the newest version (4.2.0). Doing this would do no harm to the installed nVidia display drivers, would it? I mention this because I had to edit the XFree86-4 config file after installing the drivers... And I'm a relative newbie so...?!

5. Suppose I've got a script or program called 'script'. Why one has to type './script' to run it instead of simply 'script'? I read somewhere that this is for security reasons but why should running a program/script without giving a path pose security problems?

6. Also about scripts, I've got this annoying problem about my Perl programs that they never execute all by themselves. I've added '#!/usr/bin/perl' and also changed them to executables but I cannot run them like this: './Script.pl'
Instead I have to type 'perl Script.pl'. Why is this happening?!

Thanks in advance for replying!

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002
Here goes...

1) Yes. You have to set up xfs (the font server, not the filesystem) to use them. Read some stuff <A HREF="http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/RHL-7.2-Manual/ref-guide/s1-x-fonts.html" target="_new">here</A>, <A HREF="http://kb.redhat.com/view.php?eid=215" target="_new">here</A> and <A HREF="http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Font-HOWTO.html" target="_new">here</A>.