Sign in with
Your question

Bizarre Download/Upload Speed Ratio

Last response: in Networking
May 29, 2012 10:37:31 PM

Hi, I am not a network expert but I understand that the download speed is always higher than the upload speed, right? I just bought a new internet package that comes with 5 mb/s download speed. The Upload speed should be around 1 mb/s right? Speedtest.net gives me 5 mb/s download speed and 53.62 mb/s upload speed. I called my internet provider and the girl told me it is normal. How can that be normal?

I also have another weird issue. When I try to watch a video (youtube, netflix, etc...) the video starts loading correctly but stops loading after 10-15 seconds. I did a download test by downloading Itunes and the download starts correctly at 600 KB/s but after a 2-6 seconds, the downloaded megabytes stop increasing and download speed just drops until it reaches 0 and the download cancels itself.
May 29, 2012 10:53:10 PM

It definitely isn't normal, it's the exact opposite of normal. Their own data shows that it is odd -- http://testmy.net/hoststats/uninet_sa_de_cv

Is that a DSL provider?

If they won't help you, maybe it is a packet size issue. Some DSL PPPoE connections work best at 1492 for an MTU size instead of 1500, since PPPoE adds 8 bytes to each packet.
m
l
May 29, 2012 10:57:08 PM

RealBeast said:
It definitely isn't normal, it's the exact opposite of normal. Their own data shows that it is odd -- http://testmy.net/hoststats/uninet_sa_de_cv

Is that a DSL provider?

If they won't help you, maybe it is a packet size issue. Some DSL PPPoE connections work best at 1492 for an MTU size instead of 1500, since PPPoE adds 8 bytes to each packet.

Hi,
They installed optic fiber cables 2 days ago, that's when this weird thing started lol. Anything I can edit on the modem?
m
l
Related resources
May 29, 2012 11:06:47 PM