RAID on all 4 channels?

IvanLofgren

Distinguished
May 26, 2002
I'm looking for a raid-motherbord that can raid all 4 ide-channels. Do they even exsist?

Specs: ATA/133, RAID 4 channels, pref. AMD XP ok.

There's Abit's AT7 or IT7 (AMD or Intel). They have 4 x ATA/33 & 4 x ATA 66/100 RAID.

Not sure if they're good though. Check for reviews.

<b><font color=blue>~ What do you mean "It isn't working!"...Now where's my sonic screwdriver? ~ </font color=blue></b>

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002
Don't do it, Unless you only use 1 HDD per channel. IDE RAID is notoriously bad using both Slave and Master on a single channel. If you need that many HDD RAIDed, maybe a Promise or Adaptec card, or even SCSI, is worth looking at?

<i>I used to have a girl, but then I got my CS degree...</i>

Notoriously bad in what way?

I'm running master/slave set-up. Have been for months. No probs, and good benchmark scores.

I do want to try master/master to see if there <b>is</b> any performance difference, but I'll wait until I change to W2K.

<b><font color=blue>~ What do you mean "It isn't working!"...Now where's my sonic screwdriver? ~ </font color=blue></b>

G

What do you mean "don't do it" I am thinking about this scenario for myself: I have 4 maxtor D740X hard drives and two Promise Fastrak 100 IDE cards. I want 2 separate RAID-0 arrays and I cannot use WIN XP software raid becasue my onboard IDE channels have backup harddrives and cd-rw etc. Should I set up 2 arrays on one card, or one array on two cards? In terms of system resources and transfer rates and simultaneous accessing, what would be better? I just read you said not to use master/slave, I was thinking of going master/master, slave/slave? Can anybody help?

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002