my sound card is too old

mfud

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2002
hi

i have an old sound card that i would like to change.
im not a musician but im nevertheless a music lover.
i need so a high quality sound card.
at this time my old card is plugged in my hifi but i would like also to buy suitable speakers for my new sound card.

thanks for help and comments.

williamc

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2002
Okay, i got 2 points from that.
1. You will use it primarily for music.
2. You have no idea what you want.

Okay, you want high quality, but you probably don't want to spend a fortune.

For 70 bucks, the turtle beach santa cruz is the best consumer sound card for music currently available, hands down the best. If you want to spend more than that though you can get a professional quality card for 230-300 bucks. Look in Tomshardware's sound card section for a comparison of the top professional sound cards.

For speakers, once again, you would do fine a set of the current Klipsh pro-media speakers, 2.1 will work find for music and come at a reasonable price. You can get a 5.1 set of the same speakers but its alot more costly. If you want closer to audiophile quality you should look into getting a set of Sirroco pro or Sirroco Spirit speakers to hook up to your pc. Both are very high quality speaker sets and are quite popular picks for the computer amoung entry level audiophiles.

Good luck man, personally, just for music, i'd recommend a turtle beach santa cruz soundcard and a Klipsh pro media 2.1 speaker set. There's alot of good reviews on these things in Tom's sound section.

The itsy bitsy spider climbed up the empires state building, along came goblin, wiped the spider out

upec

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz is not the best consumer sound card for music. I listen to both Santa Cruz and Philip Acoustic Edge before I brought my sound card. For music Acoustic Edge is definitely better.

I also think 5.1 system sounds better than 2.1 system.

ritesh_laud