My computer will not work. This is getting frustrating

krystalized0

Honorable
Apr 14, 2012
Hi

I've recently encountered some errors with my pc.

These include

BSOD (error codes 0x00001, 0x00008, 0x0000a)
Crashes (fans go into a high powered state, monitor goes blank)
Blue screens (not bsod, just straight blue screens)
After it crashes pc turns

PC = a6745f (pre-built model)

All parts accept HDD and graphics card are aftermarket.

HDD = WD green 1 tb hard drive
GC = nvidea BFG geforce 9800gt

Now, I'll be running memtest, seatools (i ran seatools before, 100% fine)

One thing notable is that my PSU is 300w, and my graphics card says it needs a minimal output of 400w. But I've been running this graphics cARD with this psu for over 2 years.

I appreciate your input! Im a college student and cant afford a new computer :(

krystalized0

Honorable
Apr 14, 2012
Processor:
Type AMD Athlon X2 5050e / 2.6 GHz .
Multi-Core Technology Dual-Core

Mainboard:
Chipset type AMD 780G .

RAM:
Installed Size 4.0 GB / 16.0 GB (max) .
Technology DDR2 SDRAM .
Memory Speed 800.0 MHz .
Memory Specification Compliance PC2-6400 .
Form Factor DIMM 240-pin

Heres a link to the EXACT pc I have (accept for vd and hdd)

G

your PSU is tired.
a review of your card with a Q6600 test set up drew 283 watts.
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1458/bfg_tech_geforce_9800_gtx_ocx_512mb/index16.html
your cpu draws 30 watts less:
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/850/14/
the (theoretical) 253 watts will get a less than good quality 300watt psu to start failing. the error codes are the other components not getting the power they need.

try getting something like this:
Rosewill RD400-2-DB 400W ATX V2.2 Power Supply $34.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182021

krystalized0

Honorable
Apr 14, 2012
I ran memtest, the first time my pc froze and made a buzzing sound (I've gotten that before) the second time it crashed w/ a blank screen and fans going into a high powered state.