Home Network, the usual yada yada

G

I'm very familiar with Windows networking, and i'm a telecom tech, so i understand the network hardware pretty well (i'm still new to the field, so i don't consider myself an expert).

But i've never built a home network from the ground up. And i'm about to. I'm pretty sure i know how it's gonna shape up, but i figure i could present my thoughts here and get some brilliant critiques of my soon-to-be method.

Four PCs, all with NICs. One four port 10/100 hub. Cat 5 cable run through the walls to jacks in every room with a PC, effectively giving every PC a direct connection to the hub. I know how to share resources. Once they're all connected to the hub and all desired resources are shared, bada bing, we have a working home network, no? I know to name every PC something different, and i suppose put them all in the same workgroup.

The one thing i have zero experience with is setting up a shared internet connection. I suppose get the connection up and running on the "host" PC, then follow the Windows wizards on all the other PCs to get them to share it? Or can i just tell all the other PCs to access the internet through a LAN, and they'll just find the connection through the hub?

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
The absolute easiest way to do this is to get yourself a Cable/DSL router, hands down. There are many offerings out there, including Linksys, Netgear, SMC, and others. <A HREF="http://www.egghead.com/ShowPage.dll?page=cat_type_ceos&Category=NERODR" target="_new">Here is a sampling</A>
BTW - I'm pretty sure they're offering a $50 rebate in the SMC Barricade 7004 right now, a personal fav of mine. This puts the price at $50 plus shipping after rebate. Not bad.
<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>

upec

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007