Sign in with
Your question

Network Newb

Last response: in Networking
August 22, 2001 5:36:19 AM

First off i wana say that this question has probubly been asked 5 billion times but i looked over recent posts and they didnt really answer my questions.....

Here goes:

I have a comp running win2k pro and i am going to get dsl in a couple weeks and in about a week im going to get a old emachine. I want to wipe the emachine and install Linux on it (im not sure what version, im a newb member?). I want to set up a home network to share my dsl and (maybie) my old hp printer between my win2k and my emachine. I dont have much of a budget but i already know that i need to change the modem i was getting to an external cisco 675. The rest i have no knowlege of. If anyone has a site that explanes everything about networking will they please tell me.

thank you for your time

<font color=green>I can draw tyte give me the damn crayon!</font color=green>

More about : network newb

August 22, 2001 10:07:13 PM

Geeze i didnt see any routers under $100 but i guess thats how much it takes. on top of that i gota think about which cards to get (not so worried about this i saw some for under $20). And how much cableing ill need (one computer will be on the other side of the house). i guess i need to mease out how much i would need.

I guess i want to know what to look for in a router and in the cards and if i will need anything else.... software???

thanks again

Related resources
August 22, 2001 10:10:59 PM

Most any cards should suffice. 3COM, whatever. AFA router, I like the SMC 7004 because of the printer port, a lot of people like the Linksys. Not a hell of a lot of difference. You shouldn't really go wrong with most any of them

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>
August 23, 2001 1:39:15 AM

so basicly all i need to worry about is price?

should expect any issues with trying to share windows/linux?

August 23, 2001 3:02:04 AM