D-Link DWL-650+ not connecting: HELP

bondie

Honorable
Jun 28, 2012
I have an Acer TravelMate 220 running windows xp pro with a D-Link DWL-650+ wireless card that I am trying to connect to a Huawei EchoLife HG532 (AOL issue spec) wirless router.

I can install the software on to the computer via the cd provided so that windows can reconise it.

Windows then pops up saying 'Wireless network connections avalable'.

I then click on it, select my network and enter the password but to no avail, it pops up agin saying the same thing.

There is also no luck in the D-Link AirPlus software as I select my network, enter the password and it does not connect.

I do not want to connect through Ad-Hoc but I tried it and it would connect but only send packets, not recive.

Can anyone help (I am not an expert at computers although I know most stuff)

Regards

What version of Windows XP Pro are you running? SP3 (Service Pack 3)? SP2 (Service Pack 2)? IIRC, prior to SP3 it needed an update to support WPA2. So that's a potential issue.

If the problem continues, try briefly disabling wireless security on the router and see if you get connected. If you do, then obviously it’s a security problem.

bondie

Honorable
Jun 28, 2012

That could be a problem as mine is WPA2, I don't have any service pack, could you give me a link to the update as I can not find it please?

OMG, you're stilling running the original XP Pro?! That's asking for trouble. Microsoft doesn't even update that release anymore, only SP3 (and even that’s coming to an end in about a year). Many serious vulnerabilities have been addressed by Microsoft in their updates and service packs. Also, the original XP Pro didn't even have a firewall (or perhaps it did but wasn't enabled by default, can’t remember at this point).

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24

bondie

Honorable
Jun 28, 2012

No that still hasn't worked. :(