Router Keeps Disconnecting. New router?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aznwings

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2011
So, my problem is exactly what is described in the title. I'm a college student living with 4 other people and our router, a Belkin F5D7234-4 v3 (01), keeps disconnecting. My house mates insists that there is a wiring problem and that the router "never disconnected before," and thus does not think that the router is the problem. However, for every disconnection, restarting this router (not the modem, which is a SpeedStream [DSL]) would fix the internet connectivity problem. This is getting quite annoying and I would like to know what options I have.

If there is a fix for this sort of problem, I'm all ears. The firmware version is 3.00.03.

However, I'm prepared to hear responses like: "that is a piece of crap" and "get a new router."

But what router should I get? What router is fairly good? I, personally, like D-Links as they sell good low-cost routers, but next year, we are moving to a new house and opt'ing out for a better connection (Around 20-30MBps).

Is there a good wireless router that can effectively accommodate our needs? I will probably have to pay for this router myself so a low cost solution would be greatly appreciated (Around $50 or less would be ideal, but I'm open to suggestions and criticism). Linking to Newegg, Amazon, Mwave, or TigerDirect is fine. I live in California, so any website that ships out here is fine.

I thank you guys in advance.

Solution
Only channels 1-11 are used in North America, Europe and Japan have 13 and 14 channels respectively. In the US on G wireless there are only 3 channels that do not overlap with other channels: 1, 6, and 11.

Sorry to hear that it is still a problem.

RealBeast

Titan