How can I protect my information (passwords) while using a proxy/VPN?

sendo7

Honorable
Aug 3, 2012
At the school I live in various sites are blocked so I need to use a proxy to access them. Is there any way that someone could steal my password or something while I use one?

Also, let's say that I use a proxy in one web browser (let's say Opera) to view a blocked site, but then use a different browser (Firefox) with my normal IP, would I be able to use Firefox with no worries if I need to check something like my bank account? Basically, can you restrict them to one program so you can use personal information on one and normal browsing on the other, or would there still be possible security issues? I'm new to this idea so sorry if that made no sense.

It gets complicated, unfortunately.

A proxy is just a generic term. It's a device/software that's used to filter content, get around a firewall, redirect urls, etc. Some offer encryption, some don’t. It just depends on what it’s trying to accomplish. You can think of a VPN as a “special case”, a proxy that always uses encryption, although rarely offer others services (e.g., content filtering). A VPN just creates an encrypted tunnel between two endpoints and over which you can safely pass your traffic, free from eavesdropping.

But proxies are not a pancea. Even when encryption is supported, at the other end of that proxy the data MUST be decrypted before it can be passed on to its final destination. So even though eavesdropping is prevented between your machine and the proxy, you are implicitly trusting whoever is at the other end of that proxy!