Master/Slave suggestions needed

LeftCoaster

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2002
I'm confused by Master and Slave choices, especially for the CDRW and DVD drives. I'm a first time PC builder.

It's a P41.6A system with an Asus P4S533 motherboard. I have 3 drives. Hard drive - Western Digital WD800JB. DVD drive - Toshiba 16X. CDRW - Lite On 40x12x48.

I understand the hard drive should be the master on the primary IDE cable.

What is the preferred way to connect the DVD and CDRW drives? Do they both get connected to the secondary IDE cable? If so, which one should be master and which one slave?

Or should I make one of them, the CDRW or DVD, a slave to the hard drive? If so, which one?

Please share your reasons for your suggestions.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Leftcoaster on 07/20/02 03:12 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

jc14all

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2001
This is a link to a PDF file <A HREF="http://sony.storagesupport.com/cdrw/downloads/IDE Config Guide_oz.PDF" target="_new">IDE Drive Configuration Guide</A> that will help.

<font color=purple><b>An average human brain weights aprox. 3lbs., but a thought weights a load.</font color=purple></b>

btvillarin

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2001
It's that time to post a previous thread! :smile:

<A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=30911#30911" target="_new">Primary or Secondary IDE channel for CD writer?</A>

Gotta love Toey... :smile:

By the way, the floppy drive doesn't really count with all that, because it goes on it's own separate connector, as opposed to the IDE connectors.

Bryan
<A HREF="http://www.btvillarin.com" target="_new">btvillarin.com</A> isn't going to go down. I will stay alive. :smile: To keep updated about the future move my host will undertake, keep your eye on my <A HREF="http://btvillarin.fateback.com" target="_new">official btvillarin.com status site</A> and sign up for my mailing list.

Oracle

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2002