Sign in with
Your question

Connecting my server to switch using fiber

Last response: in Networking
August 11, 2012 2:06:52 AM

Hello everyone. I'm not a networking professional but fairly tech savvy. Looking to build as fast as possible home network das/San/nas type box. Goin to fill a norco 4020 case with a bunch of drives, raid controller, dual processor mb and as much ram as I can fit. Plan on running openfiler on the box. Then goin to connect it to my server with with a fibre hba on either side. My big question is can I then put another fibre hba into the server and connect my server to my switch? Haven't purchased any of the parts yet in the research and planning phase. The hope is to make the fastest media server possible. My currant setup with a nas box plugged into my router has reached its limit. Almost full and when I stream hi deff movies to my ps3 an annoying lag. Goal is to be able to stream to all 3 ps3's in the house at once. Would really like to keep the fiber in play as far into the system as possible. Any ideas or pointers would be greatly aprreicated. Thank you kindly.

More about : connecting server switch fiber

August 11, 2012 6:55:38 AM

what is you budget
m
l
August 11, 2012 1:15:22 PM

Prolly a couple grand.
m
l
Related resources
August 11, 2012 7:20:35 PM

I've been looking into something similar. Don't worry about fiber. HBA is not about file sharing, it's amount storage management.

http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac170/Manso2525/File...

Here is a layout I was looking at. It's not perfect, but it's a good start. I was planning on putting FreeBSD+ZFS to host files.
m
l
August 11, 2012 9:47:08 PM