Your question

what one should i start on

Tags:
  • Font
  • Partition Magic
  • Linux
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
March 8, 2002 4:46:04 AM

I want to start useing linux and was thinking about starting with Red Hat. just wondering if there is others that would be a better to start of with??

im trying to install redhat 7.2 on a machine that has win98 on it. when i get to the Partitioning section i dont know what to do, i used partition magic to make 2 10g partitions. I'm really new to this so please forgive me if this question has been asked many times.

any help would be great!!
thank's

<font color=blue><b> cyprus </b></font color=blue>
"What's another word for thesaurus?"
Steven Wright<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by cyprus on 03/08/02 02:22 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

More about : start

March 8, 2002 6:09:49 AM

Redhat is a good start. I'd have suggested Mandrake, as that's what I started with, but redhat isn't a super tough distro to learn.

Okay, you have 2 10 gig partitions, one is probably FAT32 and is your c: drive in windows right?

What you do next is in the other 10 gigs, make a 9.75 gig partition with the ext2 filesystem, and set the mount point to /

Then, with the remaining 250 megs, make a linux swap partition.

Then continue with the rest of the install :smile:

One thing you may consider doing is limiting your linux partition to ~2.5 gigs, and keeping as much space for windows as possible. The reason being you can store all your data files on your windows partition, and both OS will be able to read from that partition, but if you save something in your linux partition, windows won't be able to access it.

Lyrics. Wasted time between solos.
March 8, 2002 6:05:00 PM

Thanks for the reply.
Yes my C: is my windows partition (FAT32)