Sign in with
Your question

Protect my FTP port?

Last response: in Networking
August 14, 2012 2:01:44 AM

Hello, I'm new to servers and the like - I've been using SFTP for my file transfers from my server, but it's been getting too slow for my taste, and the data doesn't need to be encrypted.

1. Hence, I want to change to flat FTP, but am concerned about opening the port to the Internet - What is the best practice for running an FTP server and protecting the open FTP port? I've read several solutions online which don't seem to be that effective, such as 'port-knocking.' Given that FTP file servers are so common, I have to imagine there are more robust security protocols?

2. Somewhat unrelated - I also use a VPN, which, similarly, while faster than SFTP, is too slow for me. I've been a bit confused as to the differences in encryption technique between SFTP and VPN (I understand the latter is a tunneled connection, but I don't understand where the encryption layer is).

Thanks in advance for any replies.

More about : protect ftp port

August 14, 2012 5:38:47 AM

The problem w/ not using encryption w/ FTP is that your username/password is passed in the clear too. So presumably you'd still want/need that protected. And once you do that, you're back into encryption mode again. IOW, it's all or nothing.

Yes, leaving ports open does pose somewhat of a risk. While it’s not a complete solution, a little “security through obscurity” wouldn’t hurt; change your external port to something else, something that would require a search (e.g., 34990). Most hackers are only going to check the well-known ports and move on. Many ISPs block many of the well-known ports too.