Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Speedstream 4100 modem stats

Last response: in Networking
August 21, 2012 6:46:55 AM

Hello:
RE:

These are some of the stats for my Siemens Speedstream 4100 modem and I am writing to ask if anyone can see any problems there and/or how to fix things.
My modem seems to be working well but I am getting way less than the 1.5 Meg line speed that DSL Extreme ISP promised me. Before I rush off to buy another modem I want to know if my current modem is OK, if it's a phone line problem or a cheating ISP.

My computer details:
Dell dimension 3000 39 GB NFTS
Win xp, sp3, home ed.
Model # ST340014A
Motherboard: 0K8980
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.80 GHz
Memory: DDR Dual 512 MB
miscel. browsers

Thanks in advance for any responses to my modem's stats and/or any questions about my system or equipment,
jim :) 
August 21, 2012 2:33:10 PM

I'm no expert on the stats provided by your modem, but from a strictly layman’s perspective, it would appear the modem is reporting a download limit of 768kbps (Max Allowed Speed – To Modem), or 0.768Mbps, roughly half of what the provider is claiming. At least based on that limited information, I would question the ISP before considering a new modem.

One thing that is curious is that those download/upload speeds (768 and 384) are nice, round, binary numbers, all multiples of 128. So unless the modem is rounding the actual throughput numbers, it almost seems those are fixed values, perhaps locked down to those speeds. Did the ISP provide this modem to you? Is this only a recent problem, or has it always been this slow?
m
l
August 21, 2012 3:45:36 PM

eibgrad said:
I'm no expert on the stats provided by your modem, but from a strictly layman’s perspective, it would appear the modem is reporting a download limit of 768kbps (Max Allowed Speed – To Modem), or 0.768Mbps, roughly half of what the provider is claiming. At least based on that limited information, I would question the ISP before considering a new modem.