Sign in with
Your question

Basic Case questions

Last response: in Components
July 31, 2002 12:58:53 PM

Well, I am kind of new to building computers and have some questions. I just purchased a MSI KT3 Ultra motherboard and now am looking for a case. I plain on putting in a AMD Athlon XP1900 1.6 GHz probably due to a tight budget. I know I will want at least a 400 Watt power supply for it, but

1. Besides price what is the real difference between a Mid-Tower and a Full Tower case?

2. Is cooling maybe an issue to consider between the two?

3. If I want a front USB port do I have to buy one with one built in or is it possible and easy to put one in yourself?

4. With a limited budget is it better to buy one bare and then add in the power supply and fans, and USB (If possible)?

I might end up with more questions later, but this is all I can think of at the moment. Thanks for any responses

More about : basic case questions

July 31, 2002 5:29:32 PM

1. A Full tower is higher, has more drive bays of both kinds usually, and can accomodate more case fans. Makes for a roomier setup, which is cooler.

Remember...the positioning of the PSU in a full tomwer case means that the power cables for the drives & mobo need to be a little longer than standard.

2. Yup, see above.

3. Dunno. Never tried.

4. Cases must come with a PSU (in Britain at least) by law. I bought a case and a PSU, and it means I have a backup PSU for emergencies. I also blocked up the case fan openings and made some of my own.

It's all up to you, but I'd work out what you want to do with case cutting etc before you shop around. Rather than getting a screaming fast (and loud) HSF, you can set up a few case fans running low wattage, which will provide a constant airflow for the same effect, but without the noise.

<b><font color=blue>~ BIOS SETTINGS: Fast, Hot, Unstable...That ought to work. ~</font color=blue></b> :wink:
August 1, 2002 1:33:07 AM