Sign in with
Your question

bad sectors on hard drive

Last response: in Storage
August 4, 2002 9:52:41 PM

do anyone know how to ignore the bad sectors and format the hard drive or does it have anyway to fix those area ?

More about : bad sectors hard drive

August 5, 2002 1:15:56 AM

The FAQ at the top of this forum has something in it about bad sectors.

1° of separation between my monopoly and yours. That's business with .NET
August 5, 2002 1:50:05 AM

depends on the type of bad sector... if its software/data based a format will fix it up and make the sector reusable... but much more common are the physical bad sectors due to defects, dust etc.
a low level format marks these area's as bad and skips over them when formatting, so they are never used again.

finally, if you start developing bad sectors i strongly reccomend you backup all your data and start looking for a new drive, or sending back the old one if still under warantee.

<b>Before visiting THG i was a clueless noob. Now im still clueless, but look at my nice title!<b>
Related resources
August 6, 2002 12:50:07 AM

i think i have physical bad sectors,
how to make a low level format and how to skip the bad sectors,i've try many things : format x: ; format x:/c
format x:/q format c:/s
and none works it stop when it reach 14 % and stop and says that the format are not done yet
August 6, 2002 12:50:40 AM

i think i have physical bad sectors,
how to make a low level format and how to skip the bad sectors,i've try many things : format x: ; format x:/c
format x:/q format x:/s e= hard drive letter
and none works it stop when it reach 14 % and stop and says that the format are not done yet
August 6, 2002 1:00:18 AM

hmmm. not good.
go to the drive manufacturers website, and they should have a drive diagnostic program availabel to download. (for IBM its Drive Fitness Test (DFT)).

in the case of DFT if it sinds bad sectors it does the format for you, and marks off the bad sectors.